top of page

The town of Elizabeth is the only incorporated town, and is the county seat, of Wirt County. Originally chartered in 1822, located along the banks of the Little Kanawha River and named for Elizabeth (Woodyard) Beauchamp, wife of David Beauchamp, prominent early settler.

Population, 842 (as of 2020 US Census); it has one volunteer fire department; elections are held every two years on the second Monday in April; officials take office within 10 days of election.

Current Mayor – Bobbi Snodgrass Moore

Alderman: Judith Matheny

Council Members:

Douglas Hill

Elise Sheppard

Paul Russell

Jeremy Smith,

  Curtis Moore

Town Clerk/Recorder: Brenda Evans

  Deputy Clerk: Sharon Jones


Elizabeth City Hall Contact Information:

Elizabeth City Hall

200 Beverly Street

Elizabeth, WV 26143

Phone 304-275-3200


As of December 2021, Elizabeth had the following businesses registered to do business in the corporation:

Fox Creek Garage 

Matheny Whited Funeral Home

State Farm Insurance 

B & T Auto Repair

Kingdom Kids 

Dollar General Store #11019 

Wesbanco Bank 

Little Kanawha Publishing 

Elizabeth Laundry 

Brookover & Assoc. 

Piggly Wiggly 

Little General 

Riverbend Supply 

Midway Variety Shop 

Molly's Diner 

Chris' Barber Shop 

Elizabeth Hair Works 

Busy Bee Florist 

J & S Auto 

Elizabeth Care Center 

Leslie Maze, Attorney 

Schoolhouse Quilts 

Calhoun County Bank 

Retail Data Systems 

Roots To Wings 

Our Daily Bread & Badder 

B & D Tile & Licensing 

Advance Auto 

K & B Supply 

Red Hot Inc. 

bottom of page